RMGO CCW classes are 4 hours (6pm-10pm).
This course will satisfy the basic requirements by law for a Colorado CCW permit.
There is NO LIVE FIRE in this class.
- $100 per student for non-members
- $75 per student for RMGO members.
Our next CCW training event(s) will be:
Upcoming CCW Certifcation Classes
Note: Class space is limited, so sign up online now to save your seat.
The class takes just one night, and you'll leave with a certificate as proof of your completion of the class. We believe you'll also leave with a solid foundation to build upon. In the class you'll hear a broad-ranging discussion on such issues as:
- Why Carry a Concealed Handgun?
- Basic Handgun Safety
- Choosing a Handgun and Ammunition
- Legal Use of Deadly Force
- Carrying Concealed in the Real World -- tips, tricks and gray areas
- Carry Methods - Holster styles
- Defending your Rights
And much, much more.
This is a safe, fun class, with a lively discussion and some eye-opening perspectives.
Please note: this class does not contain a live-fire component. Students are urged throughout the class to obtain live-fire instruction in addition to the basic Handgun Safety Course, but live-fire is not required by Colorado law to acquire a permit.
Also note: This class satisfies the legal requirements for any and all permits issued in the state of Colorado (and many other states as well).
Vermont our goal - RMGO has long held the belief that training should be voluntary, not mandatory. No other group -- none -- can lay claim to opposing government-mandated training for concealed carry for the decade-long battle for concealed carry. In fact, we've been advocating for true freedom -- a Vermont-style concealed carry law (if you can legally possess a firearm, you can carry, without a "big-brother-may-I") -- since the group's inception, and will continue to push for it.
Voluntary vs. Government-mandated training -- That doesn't mean we are opposed to training. Anyone who owns a firearm should get as much quality training as they can possibly afford. We are, however, opposed to government-mandated training. And one of the reasons we are conducting concealed carry classes is that we believe citizens already have to jump through too many hurdles to obtain a concealed handgun permit. Therefore, we offer the least onerous class the law will allow while still covering everything a citizen needs to know before acquiring a permit.
RMGO class valid statewide -- Our Concealed Carry class satisfies the legal requirement set forth in Colorado law. This means every sheriff's office in Colorado must accept our class, or we'll sue them. Understand that some sheriff's offices are trying to make their own law by adding requirements for live-fire, but state law simply doesn't allow them to do that. Colorado law (C.R.S. 18-12-201.3) stops Sheriffs from implementing rules and/or actions that place a burden on the applicant beyond the law. 18-12-202.5(c) defines a "Handgun Training Class" as "A firearms safety course or class that is offered and taught by a certified instructor." We offer a money-back guarantee that our training is valid under current Colorado law, and will be accepted by your sheriff.
RMGO Life Members -- Our training classes are free to RMGO Life Members. If you'd like to become one, you can do so here.
RMGO can do private classes and those set up for your home town. To set one up, contact RMGO at our office for the details. RMGO is also seeking coordinators for training classes in Grand Junction and Colorado Springs. If you would like to help put a class together, we'll come down to teach it. (As a general rule, you'll need 10 or more students lined up for the class prior to scheduling it with our office).